Issue getting MyDBR to talk to LimeSurvey

(14 posts) (2 voices)

Tags:

No tags yet.

1. jlindemann, Member

I've been able to install MyDBR to our current LimeSurvey server. LimeSurvey is working correctly, but I'm new to MyDBR.

The software is running, but if I attempt to access the LimeSurvey DB I get an error

(1267): Illegal mix of collations (utf8_tolower_ci,EXPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,EXPLICIT) for operation '='
    SQL: call sp_MyDBR_db_tables_views('limesurvey');

I looked back in my installation notes and my LimeSurvey software is MySQL and engine type is MYISAM

2. myDBR Team, Key Master

Did you install myDBR directly to LimeSurvey or in a separate myDBR database?

The problem comes from mix of collations used. A database collation defines how texts are sorted and compared.

What are the collations used in your databases (mydbr and limesurvey if you have separate ones)? You can see this with:

mysql> use mydbr; mysql> select @@character_set_database, @@collation_database;

mysql> use limesurvey; mysql> select @@character_set_database, @@collation_database;

Usually you would like to have same character set and collation between the databases.

--
    myDBR Team

3. jlindemann, Member

Turns out I ended up installing MyDBR into its own database. So I've gone back and ran the re-install function and currently at the screen to add it to the limesurvey database.

But I'm stuck here. It appears to see that my limesurvey database is there, but I can't add mydbr to it.
    I've attempted to go into the server itself, using the SQL CLI, and enter the commands it references. But after hitting enter I keep ending up with the " -> " like it's waiting for further commands.

4. myDBR Team, Key Master

It is recommended to install myDBR into it's own database. myDBR does use it's own naming convention so it should not conflict with your existing database objects even if you install them into same database, but there is little benefit for doing that.