Can I display a different PDF header for each instance of generation?

(8 posts) (2 voices)

Tags:

1. shem, Member

I am new to PDF Header implementation.

We are generating reports from within our PHP application.

Let's say that the PHP application produces some data or better yet a block of HTML code before generating the report.
    This block of html might be different each time the PHP code is run and gets to the point of generating the myDBR report.

Can I pass this block of HTML code to the myDBR URL which I have assembled in order that this header appears on the PDF output as the header of the PDF report?

Please remember I am new to this (and somewhat new to myDBR in general) so explicit instructions would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. myDBR Team, Key Master

You can use the wkhtmltopdf's --header-html option to pass HTML into the header. See the myDBR documentation how to use the option.

You can also create your own version of the default header located at mydbr/user/export_header_pdf.php.
    --
    myDBR Team

3. shem, Member

ok, I see this in the documentation:
    select 'dbr.wkhtmltopdf', "--header-html ''"; /* Do not use header in export using wkhtmltopdf */

So assuming I want PDF possibility via &export=pdf, and I want PDF headers for all my reports
    then please tell me if the following is correct:
    I would have to do the following for every single report"
    1) Add a parameter to every myDBR stored procedure, maybe called _my_html_for_header
    2) Add the automatic parameter inExportFormat to every report
    3) Add the following code to my reports
    if (inExportFormat !='pdf') then
    SELECT 'dbr.wkhtmltopdf', "--header-html _my_html_for_header "
    end if;

And then I need clarification on what can be in the parameter _my_html_for_header
    a) Is it just the html tags themselves right away e.g. <h1>stuff</></br><h2>more stuff</h2>
    or do I need to include these tags
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en-US">
    <head>